Happy February 1st!

I know that it is Tiny Tuesday, but the Fourteen Days Of Valentines has begun and it takes precedence!  You say you've never heard of such a thing.  That's because it is a custom that I started in 1984, the year my husband and I dated, before we married in September of that year.  He was in the Air Force, and out of the country on TDY that first Valentine's Day in our relationship.  But I could send him mail, so for February 1, I sent him a Valentine labeled "Do Not Open Until February 1".  I did the same thing for February 2 and then for every day up through February 14.  I have continued the tradition for the nearly 38 years of our marriage and it is not limited to cards, but there is always a theme.  One year, it was Valentine coffee mugs, one year it was ties and another year I gave him every heart shaped kitchen tool, that I could find.  Some years, I had more money to spend on it than others and I planned some over a period of years, buying the things at mark-down prices.  He always finds the valentines gifts, somewhere and sometime during his day. I am not going to tell you the theme for this year right now because he looks at my blips every night.......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.