Dowley Gap Locks

I was out early to walk to Saltaire to my recorder lesson.  The woods were coming alive as I entered the Estate, with birdcalls multiplying and the distant sound of chain saws dealing with those fallen trees.  

My lessons have been over Zoom for several months so it was good to get back to my 'Recorder Walks' which I am recording on Flickr.  My aim is to try to spot different views on what is a very familiar 80 minute walk.  When I reached the Hirst Wood swing bridge I checked my watch and realised I was running late so the camera stayed in my bag until after my lesson.  We returned to a piece of music, 'Muskrat Rumble' which I haven't played for a while.  It's a swing piece, not my favourite kind of music and it always makes me think of a Paul Newman/Robert Redford heist movie. My stiff fingers struggle with the fast note changes but, nevertheless progress was made on the piece and I now have the rhythm fixed.

On the way home I called in at Digin's Hut for a takeaway coffee and yummy creme brulee doughnut, then sat in the sunshine on the canal bank to enjoy my mid morning snack before setting off.

I had time to look for new things on my return walk so my blip is of the new sign at the locks.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.