Macro

I bought a macro lens early in the pandemic so that I could take detailed photographs of objects around the house.  I soon discovered that, if I combined the macro lens with extension tubes, I could get in even closer to my subject.

Now I have been inspired by davidc who discovered that, with his Olympus kit, he could add in a teleconverter to his extension tube/macro lens combination to get even greater magnification. I found that I could use the same combination with my Canon equipment, and that is what I used for the close-up of the detail in a small carnation.  I reckon the width of the subject contained within this photograph is about 7mm.

The only problem is that the weight of the converter/tube/lens combination, which has no tripod collar, is rather a strain on the camera's lens mount (when the camera is mounted on a tripod) so I think it needs to be used with some care. Not as neat a solution as Draco's Laowa 24mm Wide Angle Macro Probe Lens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.