Frontier

By Frontier

Bike and Tunnel

CBD - Hook Me Up
CDB - She’s Got That Vibe

New day of the month. Despite tough times, I’m a lot calmer and a little bit more in control of emotional reactions. In control of what I can do and ok with things that I’m not.

In small daydreaming pockets of the day, my mind went back to the 90s and just thought about the pop songs. CDB (the band in the link above) came to my head and I was like, “Huh… these guys were huge in high school.” And was curious to re-listen to their version of Let’s Groove as I’ve basically memorised the original Earth, Wind and Fire version and how it varies (who hasn’t?). It was a trip down memory lane but it was interesting to see where the Central Dandenong Boys have gone to. I was surprised to see that they had a new album (2017) and honestly blown away by their covers of 90s rnb hits. Really. It reminded me of going out dancing when I was in university. They were great times and their take on the songs were really spot on. They had the vibe and fabric of the classics but I well added touch of now that was their own and really shined. The groove had pivoted in some of the songs to have production on par with the big K-Pop hits, but they rocked it and had me dancing in my chest and saying “Ooooh” many times as I was walking home. You know that feeling when a song or good hits you in the right spot? Yeah, that.

I’m usually a bit hesitant listening to Australian R’n’b because the image or vibe of the sound doesn’t “match” what is “typically” Australian. As good as Australian hip-hop is, I can’t quite adjust hearing Australian accents instead of regional American accents. Nonetheless, with some distance from living in Australia, CBD are a lot better than I remember from high school. Good times.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.