STORMY ULLSWATER

Well now I have my laptop back I just had to get out of the house for a little while today so I went out at 9.00 am and went back to Pooley Bridge.

Parked alongside the river this time, where you get a really good view of the new bridge.  You can never get never get in that car park later in the year but at 10.00 am in February there were only two other cards there - yeah.

I, of course, had to start off with a coffee and snack in Granny D's.  I had avocoda on sourough toast with pumpkin seeds and topped with the best poached egg ever.  Yum.

I then went for a walk along the East side of the lake, only about a mile though.  Then went back and jumped in the car, stopping off at two different layby's along the west short of the lake.  I saw a kite surfer getting ready to go into the water so had a little chat with him. At that time it actually wasn't that windy so he was having to flap the kite a lot to get moving.  The photo is from Gowbarrow Bay on the lake and is where the kite surfer was.

I didn't stop at Glencoyne Bay this time, the swans were there but not the swan man.  

I was giong to stop in Glenridding but it had started to rain by then so didn't.  If I hadn't already eaten I would have stopped at The Inn on The Lake but I was so full that I didn't need to.

I parked up very briefly in the car park opposite the Patterdale Hotel intending to go for a short walk in the area but they charge £5 to park there all day and you can't just park there for an hour or so.  So I just took a couple of photos of the wonderful herdies and then headed up the Kirkstone Pass.

I stopped off at Red Pit car park quite near the top.  It was so windy and there was rain in the air again so I only took a couple of photos and pressed on. 

After that I just came home, and was home before 1.00 pm.  So a pleasant and much needed morning out.  

Then sorting things out in the house, what I can with the decorator in.  At  least once the lounge is done that shouldn't need doing again for quite a few years.  It's the most disruptive room really but it does badly need doing.

With the anticipated announcement about energy price increases saving up for new carpet and curtains is going to take somewhat longer but at  least over the last couple of years we have had the most essential improvements made.  My heart goes out to those that are already struggling to make ends meet.  

Do take care everyone and stay safe and I will see you all tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.