Vorsprung durch Technik

Thirty three years engaged... and that knee never recovered.

A busy morning. Janet ran me down to the blood bank so I could drop off nearly an armful, and when I came out into 4ºC and a bracing northerly I found she'd nipped off to the garden centre. Funny how the core temperature drops so quickly when you're a pint down...

On the way back the Audi display shows a failed tail lamp and then her left indicator went into double tick... something else was wrong. She'd given intermittent alerts to the same effect recently. At home a brief Google suggested there is a design fault on A1 tail lights due to the earth wire being of insufficient size. 

True enough, dismantling the rear light cluster showed the earth wire had burned clear out of the plug. Did I want to pay for a new rear light cluster or did I want to remember how I used to earn my pay... a new earth wire was gas soldered (my electronic iron wouldn't touch it in the cold) onto the fitting and crimped into the wiring loom. 

I was treated to a slap up lunch, which went a long way to warming me up.

I wonder if there's afters...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.