Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Mixed weather today

A couple of weeks ago a service man came out to repair our microwave and he arrived at 6.00am - which was horribly early but we were sort of expecting him as we had received a text the night before to say he would arrive between 06.00 and 07.00. It needed a new power module which had to be ordered in from Europe, so today he was booked to come back to fit the new part. I checked last night and the text said he would come between 07.00 and 17.00 - so imagine my surprise when at 06.00 the doorbell rang and there he was to fit the part. I am delighted my microwave is now repaired, but bloody hell, what a rude awakening on a Friday morning! He said that because labour is so expensive they never try to fix a broken part, they rather just order a new (and equally expensive) replacement part.

It rained this morning and it felt quite squally and wintery again - I almost thought we would have sleet. By midday the sun came out and it was a beautiful day. I have photographed these trees so often (yes, you all groan, you have) but I thought the afternoon light on them was lovely today.

Gavin helped me mount my prints for the camera club competition on Monday, and then I went to drop them off at the print secretary's house as I am not attending the meeting on Monday. Due to my decision to try and stay Covid-free before I go away to Iceland next week, I have cancelled all my plans for next week and am missing quite a bit - theatre to see Life of Pi, camera club meeting, hairdresser appointment, a tour of the British Museum....oh well I am sure it will be worth it! 

I did some grocery shopping, I was in and out in a very short time, and then went to book my pre-travel antigen test at our local pharmacy, which is a certified Covid travel centre. I had already ordered a self test and only last night did I realise that Iceland, unlike most other European countries, do not allow self tests - thank goodness I spotted that before I arrived at the airport!

An extra to make you smile!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.