This is the day

By wrencottage

Two for the price of one

Two local landmarks here, photographed from an unusual angle. This is because I wasn't wearing my walking boots and it was a bit muddy on the Green, so I ventured just far enough off the footpath to take this shot, making sure that the very tall street lamp was (mostly) obscured by the obelisk. I had to wait quite a while for a lull in the traffic – there's a busy roundabout in the middle distance, but I've managed to avoid all traces of cars!

The chap at the back needs no introduction; he was MP for Wanstead and Woodford from 1924 to 1964, and the statue of him by David McFall, R.A., was unveiled in 1959 by Field Marshall Viscount Montgomery.

The purpose of the obelisk in the foreground, with its four spherical finials, is a mystery to me. It stands in an area of the Green known locally as The Sweep, in front of a large Georgian house, built in 1714, called Hurst House.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.