Life In Wales

By KarenC

Bird Lady of Nant y Pandy

After seeing a post on instagram this morning of red squirrels at The Dingle or in Welsh; Nant y Pandy in Llangefni on the isle of Anglesey, we decided to head over there, to see if we could see them.  The grey squirrel population is believed to have been eradicated from Anglesey and there's been no sighting of them since 2013, so there's quite a healthy red squirrel population, with ongoing efforts to increase the population.  The Welsh Mountain Zoo where I volunteer play a part in captive breeding and re-introduction into the wild, in association with the Red Squirrel Trust Wales.  In fact they're in the process of having a new enclosure built, so I'm looking forward to seeing this once it's finished.

Unfortunately we didn't see any squirrels today, but there were lots of robins and I'd taken my little pot of meal worms with me.  I started to talke the lid off my pot and this little robin didn't wait, it flew straight down, took a meal worm and then flew off.  It came back soon after and sat on the edge of my pot eating them, it was very confident and although I started with my arm outstretched, I managed to bring it a lot closer (see my extra).  It was such a lovely experience, and thankfully Alan had my camera so he was able to take lots of photos.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.