Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Can you see the wood for the trees?

Or in this case, can you see the trees for the wood?

I went for a short walk in Acomb woods this afternoon. It had been sunny, but the wind was bitingly cold. The forecast said that the temperature was 3 (C) but the wind would make it feel like -3. I think they were correct!

Very few people and dogs were in the woods. I had a lovely chat with one older man (older than me) with his elderly black Labrador. Like all labs, he turned his appealing eyes up to me, hoping for a treat to miraculously appear from my pocket. No luck, but we bonded well.

When the woods are quiet, they are a good place for private thoughts. My head is still full of yesterday's exhibition. I'm glad I have not been able to brush it off, so to speak. 

This morning, the splendid Claire came and cut my hair. She has taken about 3 inches off the length and created a French bob (apparently). 

The Tesco delivery driver told me a heart warming tale. A stray cat has been sleeping in his shed. He bought a scanner and found that the cat has a chip. The vet could not contact the owner at first because she had moved and changed her phone number. Thankfully, her email was the same. She moved to Hexham from a village not far away. The cat got out nine months ago and she had given up hope of seeing it again. The only problem now is for the rescuer to catch it and put it in a basket. I'm sure he will manage.

Tomorrow it will be another walk with friends, followed by lunch, just like last Monday. I'm looking forward to it.

PS I posted this image of Mum and Yang on the Hexham Matters Facebook page. When I last looked 952 people had liked it. Isn't that amazing. They will be going viral next!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.