Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Mort safes at Warden

I had a physio appointment this morning. I was inclined to think that I should let my knees settle after the fall, but I am glad I decided to have a professional opinion. Jani watched me walking and soon had a diagnosis. I've been protecting the sore area by walking with an in toeing gait.

The treatment included ultrasound and massage of the quadriceps, plus advice about how to continue the improvement.

On my way home, I called at the church of St Michael in Warden. I thought there would be snowdrops.

Just inside the lych gate are there are three protected graves. The hoops, or mort safes, are designed to protect the graves from body snatchers. They were ordered by the incumbent priest, William Thomas Shields  to cover his own grave, and those of his wife, Frances Jane, and 19 month old son, Bryan Donkin. I find it interesting that they had a grave each, when most families shared plots. They are dated 1860 - 1899.

This afternoon I was at the surgery for bloods and a few tests as part of my annual review. Val, the practice nurse, is lovely and I enjoyed my time with her.

I tried to catch up on a webinar about Photoshop from 2 weeks ago. If I don't see it by tomorrow evening I will turn into a pumpkin  the video will be time expired.

Tonight, I went with Liz and Nick to see A Man called Otto. Despite the theme of suicide, it is a feel good film with Tom Hanks acting very well. It was sad too and I wished I had taken more hankies!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.