Classic Cars

By pure chance I came across a classic car auction during my walk this morning - and what's more I arrived there in a bout of lovely sunshine in between heavy showers. For a few moments I was in car/camera heaven!

Choosing my blip was tricky but I particularly liked this radiator mascot on a goegeous old Packard Super 8 so that's my main blip. No way am I knowledgeable about such cars so I looked it up - it was made in a variety of body styles in Detroit between 1933 and 1939 (and unsurprisingly it has 8 cylinders).

In the extras is a photo showing the Packard behind a fabulous Studebaker, which Google Lens tells me is a Special 6 Model E, made in South Bend, Indiana between 1918 and 1927. The 2nd extra is the radiator mascot of the Studebaker.

Somehow I don't think either of the radiator mascots would pass modern health & Safety legislation but they are rather grand!

(Covid update: My Editor is still sneezing and coughing but no worse...and I'm still negative on this morning's lateral flow test. Statistically I'm not out of the wood yet!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.