In Memoriam

In the early years of the century I exchanged some bulbs with a fellow enthusiast, a native Armenian, Zhirair Basmayjan.   The only one of his that I still grow is an Armenian form of Iris reticulata.   In 2017 I harvested some seed from one of those plants.   Today's blip is the first flowering of the seedlings that resulted, a perfect facsimile of the original.  It is, however a bittersweet moment as I cannot tell Zhirair of my success.  He was attacked and killed by robbers in his allotment garden in the summer of 2019.   Shocking and so sad.   He was not a rich man, just a gentle plant lover with a wife and teenage son.  RIP Zihrair.

A dull, damp day.   Achimenes and Kohleria packed and posted, assorted admin jobs done and a very positive call to the conveyancing solicitor.  Ruth's move is definitely on.   Jamie cooked a delicious Korma for our tea later on.   Positives to give balance to a day with it's sombre memories.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.