Variations

Crocus sieberi raised from my own seed a few years ago.  This small potful shows something of the variation that occurs in nature.   Most of the bulbs we buy are clones, increased by vegetative means.   While there is a range of lovely options, I prefer to see the natural variation which often throws up nice surprises.   Just a few minutes in the porch opened the flowers nicely, then I cross pollinated them with my little paintbrush before returning them to the  cold frame outside.

Sunshine and showers today.   Blustery winds whipped up big seas at high tide - I took a quick look driving back from Jamie's.   His support person today was unavailable so I helped out a little.   Ruth and I are slowly working our way through the flat purchase paperwork, think all is in order.  I finally got the main pots of Achimenes and Kohleria planted this afternoon so it's been a quietly productive kind of day.

Thanks for all the good wishes for Meg.  She's had a quiet day and Ruth managed to clean the pad with dog-suitable antiseptic.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.