Monks Abbey Ruins

The ruins are the chancel and part of the nave of the 13th - late 14th century church of the Priory of St. Magdalen. It was a small monastic cell of York Benedictine Abbey. There were only a few monks but they farmed quite a large area. 

I've Blipped this before but not for a long time so it feels like something different. I poked the camera through the protective railings to take this shot. It's a good job the railings are there or the ruins probably would be gone altogether by now. The determined few - there are some every generation it seems - even climb the railings to climb on and graffiti the ruins. There's evidence of that in this shot!

Other than that I have just done a few routine domestic jobs today. Minstrel had a sleep on my lap for a while too!

Work again tonight - last night was a good night, busier but not frantic. Tonight could be another story as Lincoln City are at home. I hope I will be working with one of the more experienced fryers!

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.