1920’s Film ‘Married Love’

Today I visited the new exhibition at the National Archives Kew. To mark the release of the 2021 census there is an exhibition about the 1920’s and this poster is one of the items on display. Although I knew about Marie Stopes work on birth control I had not heard about the silent film which was originally called ‘ Married Love’ based on her book of the same name which promoted sex education and family planning in marriage, a taboo topic in 1920 society. Initially the board of film censors declined to give the film a certificate but then they required it to be renamed ‘Maisie’s Marriage’ . I looked it up when I got home and find you can actually rent the film online to view! It is apparently about a waitress called Maisie who finds the path of love is not easy but that small families are happier than large families. A very controversial film at the time!

There are many other exhibits about life in the 1920’s and a replica Cabinet Table ( see extra) which explores the 20 prime ministers of the 20th century from Lord Salisbury to Tony Blair. Alongside biographical details of each is one notable document relating to their time in power . Also there are a few props by some eg a blue jacket on the chair for Margaret Thatcher and a hat for Winston Churchill!

We were extremely impressed by the whole place, free to visit, and also that you can have free access to Findmypast on a large number of computers. Also a nice cafe and shop. I bought a book to record details of my family in…having already done some research it may make me do more! 
I have visited before but not for several years.
You can also have access to all sorts of records by booking in advance,

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.