Flat

Another windy, chilly day to start with. I finished some tasks from yesterday, putting up some pictures in the bedroom and a sun shade for the veranda door. The pictures, or rather embroideries, are from my mother. She liked to work with her hands and to do things to use and also nice to look at. She was weaving carpets made out of cut up old clothes that she got a little income from, she was weaving table cloths for her own use, knitting socks and gloves for me when I was young and, after my father died, she found a couple of patterns that she loved and spent a very long time finishing. I don't know quite how long because I was living in another part of the country by then. She was very pleased and had them professionally framed and passepartouted. After she died they were given to her best friend Monika, who had them for years, but after I moved south she asked me if I wanted them. I did, even if they are not my kind of motif but they make me think of my mother with love each time I see them. I put them in as an extra, they look good over the beds and works as my guardian angels.
 
We got a lovely, sunny late afternoon, made for a bicycle ride, I thought, but there was none of that because the front tire was flat and I found I lacked some of the tools to fix it. I have them but they are in a box somewhere or still in the storage room at my old place, where I keep my tools. Tomorrow is also a good time for a cycle ride, isn't it. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.