Labyrinth

On my walk I used the car to begin with. I wanted to see what Alvaret, the big plane near to where I used to live looked like and if I could see any hints of spring. It's four km south of my present house, a bit far to walk to the start of my walk, I thought. I made some errands on the way to make up for using the car.

The wind continues to be stronger than usual this time of year but I had blazing sun all day. The part of my walk that went over Alvaret showed no signs of spring but once I got into The Grove I could see buds on many trees and some birds were rehearsing. Suddenly, in the middle of the path, I saw this pattern made of some seed carriers that I don't know what they are. They looked a bit like Hazel seeds but also like pine shoots to me but I couldn't understand how they got there, there are plenty of Hazel about but no pine trees, and no tree would place their seeds like this anyway. They could be placed like that by some human but there were no footprints and one of them is partly covered by an old leaf. It looks like a labyrinth since there's only one way to the middle. Any ideas?

Someone has also started to clear the old settlement for one of the big chiefs on the island around 500 A.D. Many trees has fallen because of the Ash tree decease but since it's a protected area you are not allowed to remove any trees, apart for the ones that fall over the path. Now, trees have been removed and taken down and the whole area around the longhouse has been tidied up. It might have to do with the archeological excavations taking place here, lots and lots of people come to see the area now after all the publicity the site has had and the rising historical interest among many people.

It's a huge longhouse, one of the largest on the island, if not the largest. I measured it to 50 steps long (about 50m) and six or seven steps wide. It has been used as a place for meetings, feasts and maybe people have slept there too. The excavation has been made to the house nearest to the longhouse, a house that probably has worked as a kitchen, where you also could slaughter animals and grind flour for bread making. They've found tools and grindstones and weights usually used when weaving. The excavation will continue, their dream is to be able to start digging in the actual longhouse, no one has ever done that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.