Marionb

By Marionb

How Many..

..Is Too Many?

How many pairs of socks does one person need? How many hand-knit socks are enough? How many drawers should one devote to socks? These questions haunt me...I would not want to ever be without enough socks...but I also do not want to overdo this whole sock thing..

However, socks are a handy knitting project...very compact. very portable...can fit in your purse..can be knit on an airplane, in a doctor's waiting rooming, in front of the tv - unless you are doing the heel - best to not have distractions when knitting the heel....And they make such fabulous sock yarns nowadays...in beautiful colours, some self-patterning and self striping, so it looks as if you slaved over the knitting, using several different yarns to get the effect..but no, you didn't. It was just one yarn, designed by computer to make its own pattern! And, the big plus? Socks usually fit....adaptations are mainly just in the length...Easy peasy

Anyway, I have a pair of socks partially knit in a wonderful yarn brought home to me from NZ by my daughter...It is next in line in my Finish those Darned Projects challenge... so there is no question about knitting up those socks..but after that? Do I really need more? ( aha.... but do I WANT more........)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.