WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Long distance

I took this from the terrace with the lens at its maximum extension, and didn't even see the person fishing till I looked at it on the computer -- I was trying to work out what the line of foam beyond the rocks was. I'm none the wiser, but it's not normally there.  Anyway, it's all I've got!

I tested negative this morning, which continues to be a surprise. That being the case I decided it was safe to go shopping, so I went to Olivares, the international deli, and bought lots of treats, ranging from Marmite (yuk) to gravadlax. Their selection of chocolate was surprisingly skimpy though, so on the way back I stopped at Lidl, always a reliable source, and they turned out to have elegantly wrapped boxes of Belgian chocolates on special offer, a perfect treat for the bored invalid.

It was a little bit breezy but just warm enough to sit on the terrace knitting. As a result of yet another Backlisted podcast, I downloaded Zola's Thérèse Raquin onto my iPad. One of the guests talking about it was Andrew O'Hagan, and just listening to his voice made me want to read his books too. Thérèse Raquin sounds unrelentingly grim, but hey, that's Zola for you.

S's isolation feels worse than lockdown in some ways -- at least then we were able to entertain each other. And he is sick of being stuck in one room. So this evening we decided to have a Zoom apero with some of the goodies I bought (extra) -- feels ridiculous when you're in the same house, but actually it was lovely to be able to talk to each other properly for the first time in days. S has had some potentially exciting news about his book but I am keeping that under wraps until it's definite.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.