Sunny Cones

I had to take my car to the garage in the village first thing - for a service and MOT, so after leaving it there I went for my walk….it was really bright and sunny but quite cold directly in the wind!

I thought that the pine tree with all the cones glowing in the early morning light look quite pretty against the blue sky.

Whilst I was out I spotted some UK highway maintenance at its finest. Along one of the lanes I was walking along, a small, unmarked, transit-type tipper van squeezed past me and stopped a couple of hundred yards ahead. Man in high viz jumped out and shovelled something from the back of the tipper onto the road and patted it down with a spade and then drove off. As I got near to the ‘repair’ I could see the very loosely levelled tarmac on the road. Seconds later a car approached and I stepped onto the verge to let it past, and it drove straight over the ‘repair’…no way to avoid it really…and most of the filling was displaced out on to the road surface, leaving behind a virtually empty pothole.  Brilliant waste of time, effort and, presumably, council money.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.