Outside looking in…….

…..to the summerhouse.
I haven’t set foot outside up to mid afternoon. The sunshine tempted me up the garden path.
I was well wrapped up against the biting wind.
I just sat in the warm armchair that had been catching the sunlight and had my coffee.
Good to just step out for about half an hour.
It’s trying to hail just now as school is coming out. Everyone hurrying along with their hoods up or woolly hats pulled well down on their heads.
Gaggles of kids from one of the local secondary schools go past at times.
Some of the lads without coats!
They’ll be stuffed in their backpacks.
Why is it they don’t seem to mind the cold!
My mum’s words to me when I was young was “Where’s your vest?” when I discarded it the minute I went off to Grammar School and never wore one again!
Do any of you remember Liberty bodices? My sister and I both had to wear those in the early ‘50’s.
I guess with houses not generally centrally heated undergarments were needed to keep warm.
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Liberty_bodice
I came indoors after the half hour elapsed and am now about to begin reading my book once more.
It’s the third one in the trilogy by Jojo Moyes. This one is called “Still Me”.
They aren’t meaty reads but pacy with a good narrative and story.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.