Escargotoires, Snowdrops, and a Daft Dug

The sunlight was a bit much for Geordie’s coat here. It was just my phone camera. I should have taken the real camera.

Anyway, the wood was lovely today. The sun was shining through the trees highlighting the snowdrops, while the wind rushed through the treetops like a train. The woods were the only choice for our walk as the wind made it very difficult to walk anywhere else.

As we were walking towards a patch of snowdrops a hare shot out of a pile of dead leaves and bracken he must have been sheltering under. I think all three of us jumped. It was so close I could have almost touched it. Geordie initially launched himself in the direction the hare was going, but quickly remembered I was on the other end of the lead. I had a fleeting vision of being hauled through the bracken and tree branches, instead I just nursed an arm almost pulled out of the socket.
It was great to see a big, healthy fit hare.

I checked out the hazel tree on the edge of the wood, looking for these tiny female flowers that several people have mentioned and blipped. I found them. I can see why I hadn’t noticed them before - they are tiny, but beautiful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.