High in a tree across the road

A dull overcast day with little more than a gentle breeze to stir the air. With a distinct lack of enthusiasm, I was contemplating changing and going out for a run as the evening approached. Looking out from the front deck, I could see a small part of a tall tree across the road. Sudden movement and I saw two Kereru. 

For 10 - 15 minutes I tried to get where I could get a clear shot, with minimal success. Then I realised that the humidity in the air had become actual spots of rain. I had done some washing and it was outside on the back deck with little chance of drying, but every chance (if the spots of rain increased in number) of getting wetter. I left the birds to their own devices and moved the drying rack inside.

When I regained my camera and returned to Kereru spotting there was only one to be seen. More easily seen, and intermittently preening, especially the white chest feathers. I got my blip, and then saw a small white feather falling into the roadway, and managed to get it. It is so light and soft, and appeared to be quite electrostatically charged when I first held it. That was to be an extra for today, the result of preening. But blip won't accept it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.