The second half of life..

By twigs

Coast-to-Coast

Whew! What a day! I'm exhasusted just watching the athletes competing in the annual Coast-to-coast event. Not the usual event thanks to Covid - a pared down version which only allowed those completing the 'Longest Day' to participate ie no 2-day event, no teams event, only the super-fit, machines who completed the run/cycle/kayak across the width of the South Island in one day. It was pure chance I found myself on the route and it was simply too good an opoprtunity to miss to stand on the roadside and cheer them on......and take a few pics of course! Sadly, the rain has come in again so those not quite as fit/fast/machine-like as the leaders would have had a tough second half. I loved that several families and supporters had driven out to support their friends and loved ones along the way (though to be fair, this crew were related or married to the race director).

I've chosen to stay put at Lake Lyndon despite the rain - I figured I'd rather be in rain in the hills than in town. Gas and water both need fills tomorrow though so I'll be heading back to civilisation tomorrow.

In COVID news, there were 454 new community cases reported today; 27 are in hospital and 0 in ICU.

PS I did see 2 eggs in the grebe nest today - hope this cold spell doesn't cause them too much stress.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.