Caged

A hot bright day and I decided this persistent lingering headache wouldn’t hold me back. I went exploring on foot, and ended up at Johannesburg Zoo.

The temperature reading at the gate showed 32.5, so this is another venue in the region where I am clinically dead upon arrival. Yet no one cares whether these machines are operating accurately as long as governments are making a show of protecting people from Covid.

Joburg Zoo is a grand day out. Zoo design has certainly moved on since the 1900s, but I like that the the old carnivore (pictured) and elephant houses are retained for posterity. The zoo adjoins an area of parkland known as Zoo Lake. This is an excellent resource for the city, which I enjoyed as I curled my route back towards the suburb of Rosebank, where I’m staying. A relaxing day of ambling, catching some rays and gradual improvement of my stomach woes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.