Rooftop Dinner

I had no real reason to go into the office today other than I was going to my pedicure after work - it’s a long story about an in-growing toe nail that I haven’t written here yet -  and that appointment could not be moved. And it’s much easier to get to Mayfair for 6pm when travelling from the office than it would be to try and get there from home. 

A few weeks ago it was suggested that a couple of us meet for some drinks after work and, given I would be in town tonight, proposed this evening. Then, perhaps somewhat rashly, suggested that we should go for dinner instead.  And while we were at it, I said, why not make it a venue with a view. Something like a rooftop restaurant. And lo, a plan was born.

So, after I’d done a day in the office where everybody asked ‘why are you in a meeting room’ as I sat freezing and they all looked on from their cozy homes; I walked to The Refinery to have my feet looked at. Then to the Raddison Blu on Oxford Street where I met my colleagues.  After a drink we went to Alto by San Carlo which is described as a  “chic, verdant rooftop venue at Selfridges [that] offers a seasonal menu of Italian plates & cocktails” for dinner. It’s a lovely setting, with this amazing corridor to walk through on the away to the restaurant, but there wasn’t much of a view. It was a cold, dark night but the food was delicious, although strangely it’s served tapas-style, which meant our order of olives for nibbles came after the starters had been presented and a few moments before the main courses.  Delicious but, probably, not quite the experience I had imagined when I suggest it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.