Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Cleaning between the toes

The egret and the sparrowhawks seem to have gone from the reserve - temporarily, I do hope!  It could be because of the tree-cutting work on Friday.  So instead I wandered around this morning looking for small birds and in particular chaffinchs, which I often see there but find very hard to get near enough to blip.

Beginning a second circuit I noticed some up in the alder trees so I stopped to watch.  Imagine my astonishment when I looked round and found a female by my left shoulder, almost too close, for goodness sake!  She was busily cleaning between her toes.  (When did I last do the same?  Hmm! ;)).  As she finished she almost looked like she was smiling (Extras).

Hope your week's begun well.  Take care  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.