80s

Today I planned the weekly menu which was created around Friday’s Oddbox delivery and yesterday’s Too Good To Go leftovers.  The supermarket was reasonably empty and I managed to get all we needed. PY cooked a delicious venison lunch - with some potatoes from yesterday’s co-op bag - which had a wonderfully rich port and cranberry sauce. The whole thing was a great Sunday lunch - which is a routine I feel we got into at the start of the lockdowns but have slipped away from as the need to be in the house all weekend subsided.

Later, I went to the gym and followed one of the routines on the Apple Fitness app. A few weeks ago I activated a free trial but had not followed one of the running sessions until I was on the treadmill today.  It was much more fun that just plodding along listening to my own music so I will try to get one or two of these sessions in each week. The gym’s wifi was a little slow so I ended up putting in a little more time that might have been needed while I waited for the video to buffer. I discovered later that I could have downloaded the workout to solve that problem.

At around 5:30pm we headed back the The Cozy Coqs for the 80s Love Songs show which was really wonderful. It started with a rendition of the Kyle and Jason classic ‘Especially for You’ and continued in that way for a couple of hours. Some nibbles and some white wine made it a brilliant way to spend an evening.  Jon Tarcy, pictured, was not with the singers when we saw this group perform the Bond songs a few weeks ago. 

On the way home, PY suggested we grab some fries from the chicken takeaway to go with the two sandwiches that had come from our rescued foods bags. His thought was to make toasties and chips as our evening meal. If I carry on like this I am going to need a lot more than the occasional Apple Fitness workout but it all worked and, if we costed it, would have been amazing value.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.