Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Twechar

After the almost constant rain of the past few days, Monday was rather brighter in outlook, with good spells of sunshine between the clouds and occasional showers. An opportunity to get out and walk a little more of my challenge to complete 200 miles of Scotland's canals in 2022.

I drove over to Auchinstarry Marina and started my walk from there, first to Twechar and then on to Kirkintilloch. It was a bit ambitious on my part, not because of the distance (around 5 miles / 8km), but rather because I left it a bit late to start and then stopped at frequent intervals to take photos, meaning that I completed the last mile or so in the sunset glow and then the darkening evening skies. Silly me!

Got a bus more-or-less straightaway in Kirkie and was back in Kilsyth a short time later. A wee bit of a walk back to the car, but I reckon I am up to about 40 miles into my 'canal challenge' and it's only mid-February.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.