A Day In The Life

By Irish59

Danger•Danger

I was taking pictures of a raven in a tree across the street when something unexpectedly flew in front of my lens. Landing not far from the raven was this hawk except his back was to me. Within a few seconds the raven chased the hawk to the other side of our neighbor’s yard into a pine tree. I was pleased he was facing me this time and remained in place for almost ten minutes. He eventually flew deeper into the woods out of sight • This hawk is different than the one that visited during a January 7th snowstorm, a sharp-shinned, we believe, but we’re having difficulty identifying this one. I have another photo of his tail, and between the two he doesn’t seem to fit any descriptions in google or our bird books. If any blippers can assist, it would be greatly appreciated! • It’s a cold, blustery and icy day. I sanded paths to the car and to the deer table, plus salted the driveway with hopes of melting some of it before rain arrives later in the week. I’ve given up on some of the bird feeders because I can’t safely get to them. What a mess! • Hi-Ho, Spring is on the way :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.