Some Days It Just Isn't Worth Getting Up

The storm arrived suddenly just after 4am.
At 4.15 I heard the bins being blown over - starting at one end of the street and working its way down to the other end.
I didn't bother getting up other than to retrieve the curtains which were being sucked out the window and close said window.

When I did get up I went and checked our bin ... it was still standing waiting to be emptied (unlike most of the others which were horizontal and empty). I think it was sheltered by the short length of hedge.
There was no wind by this point.

The Lilac 'tree' didn't fair so well. It was standing at a bit of an angle.
After breakfast I took the tree down. It wasn't a substantial trunk by any means but it was awkward due to the direction of lean and I was glad I bought a new saw the other day.

Later we went for fuel. We just made it before the fumes ran out.
I remember being horrified the first time it cost me £5 to fill a tank.
It cost a damned sight more than that today.

Work at the lathe resulted in  ...... nothing! What a waste of time.
The Blip is the wee box mentioned yesterday - it is Yew and Camphor Laurel.

The lunchtime news gave me a bit of a chuckle (that was a first).
There was a bit from one of the major stations about trains being cancelled "just in case". It ended up by telling us we had 25 minutes to get everything battened down before the next storm arrived.
Needless to say it was late. It was shortly after 6pm before the still air started moving.
But at least something arrived on the same day .... which makes a real change.

Fingers are being crossed this evening - there is a roast in the oven and it seems to be playing ball. It is certainly smelling good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.