pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Royally sweet mail

One of the sheer unbridled joys of life is its capacity to surprise you every now and then.

Take this evening for example. There I was just doing my daily check on progress at the house (looking good, new floor almost there and stud walls starting to go up) when I noticed some post had been delivered with one intriguing slim envelope in particular grabbing my interest.

Inside was this beautifully written and coloured note from a young friend who clearly has the biggest, sweetest and kindest heart (can’t think where she gets it from) to take the time to take pity on an old fossil like me bemoaning the absence of any Hallmark-sponsored notes of affection.

I clearly had some dust in my eyes from visiting the house as they were stinging a bit after opening the envelope and reading the note…

It has been a good day post-wise, as the children were dropped off to me clutching some misdirected mail containing a £25 premium bond win for yours truly! Milky bars are on me!

We also had a great drive down south despite the winds of storm Dudley buffeting the car for most of it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.