pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

"No Stairway, denied!"

I read an article today which discussed the 30th (yes, 30th!) anniversary of Wayne’s World.

I was obsessed with this film when I was younger. It is one of two*, which as soon as it finished, I would hit rewind on the remote and send the VHS tape screaming back to the start only to watch it all over again. So obsessed was I with this film that I tried to abridge it for my drama GCSE. Fortunately, my fellow cast mates were able to dissuade me and we ended up doing some half-baked B-movie, film noir-esque piece. I’d recently seen The Untouchables, so was delighted that I got to wear a fedora and a trench coat and also steal one of Costner’s lines. I got a B for my drama GCSE. It was generous.

Wayne’s World though, was an instant classic comedy. Endlessly quotable, watchable and just downright bloody funny. Today’s blip title, which is one of many famous quotes from the film, is a moment where Wayne is about to try out a new guitar, only to be pointed to a sign in the music shop saying “No Stairway to Heaven”. Having read the article, I realise that the sign has an even deeper resonance as a result of Led Zeppelin not permitting even three notes of ‘Stairway to Heaven’ to be used in the film!

This is also a clumsy way to explain that this is the only picture I have taken today from the housing project.  


*Ace Ventura: Pet Detective was the other film I watched on a loop. The stunning box office hat trick of Ace, The Mask and Dumb & Dumber all came out in 1994 and so did my unhealthy lifetime obsession with Jim Carrey. It has never waned since, peaking with The Truman Show and Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

Oh, and I always thought that I Love You Phillip Morris was underrated. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.