pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Mr C and Lady V

They say that you should never return to the scene of a crime, but LadyV seemed happy to come back to the same spot where a year ago to the very day, she stole my heart.

To this day she has evaded prosecution, but most would say that having to spend a year in my company is punishment enough.

I’m biased of course when I say that LadyV is incredibly pretty, but I have to say that she outdid herself this evening and looked absolutely stunning. Even our taxi driver couldn’t help but comment that “I was doing well for myself” and “what was the age difference?!” He didn’t get a tip, but I understood what he meant and felt very proud and lucky to have her on my arm as we walked to our table. 

The Midland Hotel is a lovely art-deco place right on the seafront. I would love to say that we ate dinner whilst gazing out to see, but it was dark. We did have a little chuckle to ourselves as we looked around at our fellow diners and realised that we had immediately reduced the average age in the place by around half, but we didn’t really care and were happy to keep our own company.

We had a lovely evening exchanging cards (hers for me in extras - a nod to my mushroom allergy and her repeated attempts to kill me with mushroom based dishes) and kind words as we looked back over a cracking twelve months and talking about what we might do with the next twelve. Dinner was delicious with Hake for the lady and Lamb for me followed by an apple cinnamon creme brûlée for her and a sumptuous STP for yours truly.

We finished up with a drink in the bar at the end of the hotel, which we decided promised much and delivered little, but by that point we were too tired and full to care too much about it and so made our way home.

Happy Anniversary LadyV! Can’t wait to see what the next twelve months have in store! x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.