pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

My sunny valentine

For the past couple of years it has been not without a sense of dread that I have approached Valentine’s Day.

Today however, I have felt different about the whole affair and the unpleasant memories of a second marriage ending on this very day three years ago have not inflicted the pain that they once did. Time has marched on. Torrents of water have flowed through under the bridge and I am in a different place (literally and metaphorically), not lost in the past or obsessing about things in the distant future, but present. Thinking about the here and now with an allowance for the immediate future (I have to, I have builders in).

I have been to the office today and caught up with some colleagues and was delighted to find that one of those closest to me, whose own marriage had hit troubled waters, had been able to turn things around and they were going to make another go of it. I felt my cockles beginning to get toasty.

My work wife was also in, so I treated her to a pub lunch as a thank you for all the hard work she does and as an apology for missed birthdays and having to deal with me four days a week (she doesn’t work Wednesdays). It was lovely and as we left, the sun even poked its head out for a little while.

I thought I had better do some actual work in the afternoon, so was able to flex a little creative muscle with the writing of a market proposal and then I headed over to the house to check on progress, which again looks positive. I’ve added one in extras to show how much height has been gained in the loft space. Walking around, it felt HUGE and I did feel a tinge of excitement for how the finished thing will look.

Now though, it is time for me to romance myself treat myself to an evening of stretchy pants, sporadic slipper wearing, regular biscuit eating and curling up to watch Palm Springs, the best date film ever!

Love hard.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.