pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Slippery customer

I could hear the rain spattering on the roof of the kitchen as I made my first brew of the day (always the best one) and instantly knew that I was going to have another quiet one.

My Sunday morning routine of blip and brew in bed is a treasured one, and on a day when you have no particular place to be, is all the more enjoyable as time can be taken to catch up with you all and friends.

I did have to head out for some supplies late morning and there my friends is where I treated myself to something that a man of my age strongly covets: a nice warm pair of slippers. So excited by them was I that as I sat watching the end of This Is Going To Hurt (heartbreaking) and admiring the purchase currently warming my feet, I knew that I simply had to share the image.

Today has also generated a little mirth when I shared on FB that I had solved today’s Wordle in a single guess. So outraged was a friend of mine, that he openly accused me of cheating and failed to accept my explanation, that I just “had a feeling”. Unfortunately, he was so busy being outraged that he’d failed to remember that he’d posted an obvious clue to the day’s solution on his own FB feed. Sorry Matty! x

The one-sided rugby bored me, and cognisant of the fact that I had taken on board a heroic amount of biscuits and a large bakewell tart, I began to feel restless, so donning my forgotten running gear and putting some choons in my ears, I set off for a rain-soaked 5k which was completed in 29 minutes. Not even the Ed Sheeran track Bad Habits, which has mysteriously appeared in my playlist (bloody kids) could wipe the smile from face.

I felt like I’d earned the right to some slipper time this evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.