pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Hurt

Went out for a couple of drinks last night and got chatting to a nurse who told me a few stories about what she had seen on the wards over the course of the pandemic. To say that this was something of an eye opener would be an understatement.

It was one of those conversations that reminds you that however tough or stressful your job might be, when you boil it down it is never a matter of life or death. 

It was a stark reminder of what those in the NHS have been through over the past couple of years and the scars that they have been left with as they worked at the coalface whilst the vast majority of us were sat on our behinds. The nurse’s eyes watered as she recounted the amount of young people she’d seen die and described failed attempts at the proning protocol – effectively flipping covid patients onto their front to try and jump start their lungs before flipping them back and quickly intubating them if it didn’t work. 

It was quite a timely conversation as with the incessant rain giving me the perfect excuse to do proper eff all (caution: links to video containing a number of swears), I’d sat and watched the utterly brilliant This Is Going To Hurt by Adam Kay and starring Ben Whishaw. Highly recommended, but proceed with caution as it doesn’t pull any punches with regards to blood volumes found in hospitals.

If you ever catch me moaning about how hard my job is again, please do me the courtesy of administering a short, sharp slap across my face.

P.S. The photo is the only one I took today and was taken on my home. I wasn’t pished and was trying to do something arty. It did NOT work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.