Shadow Wall-tz

A fairly quiet one today, though when Mrs M went out for a walk this morning she was only just back in the door when we had a violent sleet storm! Fortunately it didn't last and it's been fairly sunny since, very annoying as I've been stuck indoors dealing with entries for our last Photo Competition of the season!

Fortunately the sky cleared a bit by about 4.15 so I went out for a leg-stretching, air-breathing walk around the local roads, enjoying the views over to Mull with the huge banks of white clouds above the hills. As I came along Duncraggan Road I spotted this shadow on the high white retaining wall of a house; a small digger was parked on the opposite bank and the sun was shining through it.  Thought it was a bit different, so here it is.

As I turned the corner to return via Ardconnel Road I noticed that the beautiful and fairly rare Pittosporum tenuifolium 'Silver Queen' which used to grow in a garden on the corner had gone. I often thought of knocking on the nearest door to suggest that the sycamore seedling that had grown up beside it would be better cut down, but that has been chopped in the usual ugly fashion and of the tall pittosporum there's no sign. All I see around here is butchered trees!

OK, no more moaning! Off to a Scottish Wildlife Trust meeting this evening, to be held at the salmon hatchery up at Barcaldine. The lady in charge of publicity assured me that the talk, entitled 'Salmon farming - into the future' - would be positive and forward thinking and as much a discussion as a talk. Just as well, as a lot of members of the public have signed up to attend. I recognise a few of the names - it could be interesting!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.