FLOWER FRIDAY - A TRIO OF DAFFODILS

These are the free daffodils I was given by the lady at Waitrose on Wednesday, and I had set this up yesterday before we went out, but then we saw the lovely little goats, so they had to be my Blip.

Mr. HCB suggested they would be better for Flower Friday anyway, so I set them up again this morning - you know me about the ethos of Blip - photograph to be taken ON the day - so here they are, having been in the cold garage all night, just in case all of them opened up fully and of course, my black velvet trousers came in handy once again.

Again, I have used the Carbon app to put a yellow border round and then a black canvas around that.

What a day it is becoming!  The wind is very blustery, just as the weather people promised with Storm Eunice really doing her bit - even worse than Storm Dudley!  At 11 o’clock last night, we brought our glass patio table into the conservatory, just in case the wind got underneath it and blew it over.  It is now raining very hard and we noticed from our kitchen window, which is at the front of the house, that our neighbours’ bin store had moved a few feet and was now impaled on what can only be described as a “Mini Stonehenge” in their front garden.  We were rather pleased the stones were there, otherwise, the bin store could have landed in our porch, with disastrous consequences.  It has broken the front of the bin store, but has done nowhere near as much damage as it could have done to our porch.

Meanwhile, Mr. HCB is sitting in the conservatory doing one of his Wentworth wooden jigsaw puzzles - “A Snowy Village” - with all this wind, we are rather glad we don’t have any snow but feel for those further north who do.

Do take care and stay safe - we have enough food so don’t need to go out at all today, which is good, so we won’t starve - I might even have to raid my “chocolate and biscuit box” which is on a high shelf in the hall cupboard.

Most of us will know the poem by William Wordsworth, which begins, “I wandered lonely as a cloud that floats on high o’er vales and hills....” this is the last verse - I’m not sure how often I lie on the couch in a vacant or pensive mood, but perhaps we should all do it more often and find that bliss!

“For oft, when on my couch I lie
In vacant or in pensive mood,
They flash upon that inward eye
Which is the bliss of solitude;
And then my heart with pleasure fills,
And dances with the daffodils.”
William Wordsworth

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.