Felicity

Strava Day 265/ #75Hard Off Phase Day 22. Gallon, mindful activity and reading done. This is where I was at 5:55 and I intentionally did not remove the time stamp. If Jocko Willink (retired US Navy Seal Officer)  says that one should wake up at the same time every day and that discipline equals freedom then this is basically a "buhat ng sariling bangko" (carrying one's own bench/ self-aggrandizing photo/post).
***
Yesterday, T kept sending me videos from TikTok and YouTube that I did not really watch. Told him, isn't my presence enough ? He still has difficulty being on his own and has trouble with speaking with his age group. It bothers us at times but we just let him be for now. After all, learning takes a lot of patience and practice. If David Goggins, had the humility to learn from his mistakes, then we (B and I) should too. It's just like an AAR (After Action Review).
***
Something that made me smile/laugh the other day: While we were all busy figuring out dishes and preparing food for the construction workers, T said: That's my Mommy! (Small things like that serve as fuel for another day).
***
Something I read off a book which made me pause and reflect  (paraphrased):  The only way to stop irrational anger is by an act of equally irrational forgiveness. This is difficult to achieve because anger is exciting and enlivening, and forgiveness is quiet...Anger feeds a sense of power; forgiveness reminds us of our humbleness --- that unpopular commodity, so misunderstood. To forgive is to give up the exhilaration of one's own unassailable rightness.
***
B had a lot of pasalubong (Filipino term for treats and gifts) from Manila and we are definitely grateful for family, nature and the gift of time. Need to go now before this becomes another TLDR (Too Long Didn't Read) entry. Meeting a good friend after years due to the pandemic. Here's to you choosing joy and love every day even if it is hard work. :)
***
P.S. Title is from a favourite show when I was a teenager which features Keri Russell.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.