A day in the life

By Shelling

In reflection

My relative in Denmark left this earth for something different this morning at the age of 82 and the day has been subdued because of it. A friend had called to ask if I wanted to go for a walk, exploring some of the paths in the forest near my new place. Neither one of us had been there before but consulting maps as a starting point we set off into the woods. These days, the once mighty forest covering the whole middle of the island, is now broken up by old and new fields, where we saw traces of ancient stone walls making out borders for the fields and connecting narrow roads, or cattle-paths. We chose a shortcut and soon found ourselves in a flooded part of the forest where branches and dead trees made it almost impossible to get through. I found a couple of blip-objects that I thought corresponded with my state of mind, reflections and a mourning portrait of an ancient beast.

In the afternoon I had tickets for a play, aimed towards children. I know one of the actors very well and the play had extremely good reviews. It was the most touching play I've seen in a long time, one of the scenes, where they explored in a very playful way what happens when you die,  moved me deeply, it helped me cry a little in the darkness of the room.
A good, healing and reflective day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.