randomgirl

By randomgirl

Getting stuck in

We were lucky not to experience any of the strong winds that came with the big storm yesterday. Being so far north we ended up with a very cold day and quite a lot of snow (and later sleet) instead.

I had been feeling sorry for the sheep standing so still in the constant snow during the morning. They looked like they were too miserable to move, or maybe just didn't know how to get to the grass anymore under the covering of snow!

When I went for a walk though I was very happy (and relieved) to discover that they had actually been given lots of hay. That's the first time I've seen hay put out in this bottom field. Unfortunately this was the closest and clearest view I could get of the sheep with my phone. If I stepped any nearer they were likely to move away in fright.

In one of my extras you can also see one of the local 'Riding for the Disabled' horses who came over to the fence as I walked past their field. Normally they are quite happy to ignore passers by. I wondered if they might be hungry and then I noticed their hay feeder was completely empty. I was pretty confident that someone would come along to replenish it soon though. They seem to be well looked after horses. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.