pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Twolips

I didn’t sleep much last night. The wind howled around all night long and rain loudly spattered the window.

Despite needing to get back home in good time to be present for the arrival of the wee ones, I managed to carve out some time for a crafty McDonald’s breakfast, which always tastes better when eaten whilst driving back up the M6.

I made it back in time and two very tired small people (they were partying away last night) were deposited with me. Soon after I realised that I didn’t have any adequate food in the house and that dipping a finger in the crunchy peanut butter is both unhygienic and doesn’t constitute a balance diet. Also, milk should be a liquid.

Top tip: If you’re considering having children, but are still unsure, take two tired primary school children (with the parent’s permission obvs) around Asda for the big food shop. If you haven’t locked at least one of them in the chiller cabinets*, tried to exchange them for biscuits** or assaulted them with a baguette*** by the end of the ordeal, congratulations, you have the patience of a saint and should start trying immediately.

For the second time in as many days, a hasty retreat was beaten back home. I could not have cared less about screen time today and after a slightly odd couple of days for them, I think some mindless activity may have helped them both to relax a bit. 

That’s my excuse anyway and I’m sticking to it.

It was nice to find some tulips back in store as I’d not seen any for a while, so snapped up a couple of bunches. Lord knows we need some colour on days like today!

Hope everyone has had a good weekend and apologies for my crapness in keeping up with your journals (I will seek to address this), but thanks for continuing to read my waffle!


*The Youngest
**M’boy
***Both and self

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.