pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Screen day

It was the first day of half term today, so we had yet another slow start.

The weather has been rather uninspiring, so I felt no guilt in having an indoors based day, so booked us lunch out and some cinema tickets for Puss in Boots: The Last Wish. The wee ones have been great company (when not banging in to, or winding each other up) and we had a lovely time chatting over lunch. 

We had sat quite near the pizza oven, so they watched in quiet awe as the Zizzi chefs kneaded, twirled and hurled the dough around before sliding the pizzas into the spinning oven. It was a good lunch and even better for the fact that I was able to dispense with eleven of the £5 vouchers I had won in the work raffle AND it meant that I didn’t have to cook tonight!!

We took our time over lunch, which actually added up to a rare display of good timing as by the time we had finished it was time to make our way over to the cinema, which was actually quite busy. The wee ones seemed to enjoy Puss’ exploits and the film seems to have reviewed pretty well, but as much as I usually enjoy these things, I was pretty bored throughout and disappointed that I didn’t drop off for a nap. The wee ones enjoyed it though, which is all that matters. And no, I don’t know why The Youngest is in a prayer pose….

With the film finished we made our way back to the car, there was a chap (who I assume was homeless) sitting in a doorway and singing a very mournful version of Dylan’s “Maggie’s Farm”, but only the main refrain over and over. I found it quite eerie and felt sorry for the man, wondering as ever, what had happened in his life to lead him to singing an old song on repeat on a grey, drizzly Lancaster street.

We spent a little time with my parents when we got back home and then with lethargy abounding, I simply gave into what was clearly destined to be a screen day and we watched the next film in their Marvel adventure (yes, skipping Hulk and Iron Man 2): Thor, which we all agreed was good, but not a patch on Iron Man.

We also watched a little more of Top Gun Maverick, which they are really enjoying.

It’s been a great day. My children are magic.



“I ain't gonna work on Maggie's Farm, no more
No, I ain't gonna work on Maggie's Farm, no more
Well, I wake up in the morning, fold my hands, and pray for rain
I got a head full of ideas, that are drivin' me insane”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.