Mono Monday Hands

Thanks  for hosting Jenny. I wanted to blip something that happened in my day and wondered how I could associate my blip to the challenge. Well I reckon we look at the hands of a clock more often than any other hands and they tell us what the time is, very handy. 

I was dropped off at Sydney Central station at 6.55am to catch the XPT train home. I noticed the station was very quiet and couldn’t understand what the big notice board was up to as there were only 4 scheduled trains for 26 platforms. Well I found out the trains were not running today putting chaos into the travelling plans for many, many thousands. Apparently the unions and State Government have been having discussions about safety matters which are unresolved. The workers arrived for their shifts but found the management had cancelled all services except a few country trains. The government said it is a workers strike but the workers are there ready to work. I was lucky as I arrived home on a fairly empty train ( half the commuters missed it due to the strike / non strike).

The extra shows some shots from my journey in to the city; Harbour Bridge, city skyline, Central station and the new book I was lent to read on the journey. The Jack Reacher series is very popular but I haven’t read any of them until today. It is very fast paced, a nice change from the last few book club choices which were like reading treacle. 

I took my new Nikon to Sydney but when I went to use it, it indicated the SD card was “write only”. Oh dear, I was so disappointed. Then Bob tells my there is a little switch on the side of the SD card which had moved. I fixed the problem in one second once I found out that bit of information. 

I have found my back doesn’t like me sitting on trains or through musicals. I was uncomfortable. Everyone says to sit down when you have a bad back but for my comfort I need to stand or lie down. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.