After the rain came the sun

... but it is still very windy.

I definitely was ready for a walk this afternoon.  I didn't go very far and chose to come back across the field path which was sodden and very muddy (so another pair of trousers to wash and boots to clean).  Rather than get involved with any ICM photography today I chose to lose myself in my surroundings, looking for things that wold make a panel.  There was no shortage of water running off the fields and onto the road so I had to paddle at times. It was lovely to be out in the sun and for the most part I was out of the wind as I walked down Dance Lane and then onto Gudgeon Hole Lane.  

When I first came to live here I could never quite see why the lane was named after a fish and then I researched it some more.  Not a fish but some equipment associated with coal mining.

I wasn't in a very blip orientated mood this weekend.  It rained and rained and the wind blew.  It came from the west and it poured in through two of the end windows.  This wasn't supposed to happen!  We had the whole end wall repointed and then treated with something to make the stone less absorbent.  It didn't work.  I emailed John who did the work for us and within an hour he was here to have a look.  I'd said not to worry as I was sure there would be people with more pressing problems, but he got a call from Nigel across the road, who was experiencing exactly the same problem so two visits together.  The thing is it mights be days or weeks or months before we have exactly the same weather conditions again.  He's got some ideas of what to try next.  I was delighted to see him.  I think we share a bond because he lost his partner around the time Ann died.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.