This is the day

By wrencottage

A precious gift

I saw one of my granddaughters for the first time in a while today. She's had chicken pox, followed by Covid, and today was her first day back at school after half term, having missed a few days before that as well. 

Her little sister now has chicken pox, so I went to look after her while Mum went to collect her older sister from school. She slept the whole time, so I didn't see her, but when the others returned, my granddaughter bounded up to me and said, "I've got a gift for you!" and handed me this pine cone. 

I knew she really loved the pine cone so I offered to show it to Grandpa and then give it back to her, but she was adamant I was to keep it. A little while later, as I was leaving, she did ask if I could bring it back sometimes when I come to visit ... bless her. 

The shadow work embroidered cloth was done by my mother, and it sits on our hall console table as a constant reminder of her. So that's another precious gift too.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.