This is the day

By wrencottage

Viola 'Etain'

I'm still feeling somewhat fragile, and concerned about my husband, so this afternoon I treated myself to a wander round the garden with my camera and had ten minutes of pleasure photographing some of the flowers. The cornus stems have bright green buds shooting out, there are clumps of tiny purple cyclamen, lots of clumps of snowdrops which are now getting past their best, tête à têtes galore and, in a tub on the terrace, a pot of beautiful Viola 'Etain' flowers. I love them for their delicate, soft colours, and in my mind they are called "Heartsease" (although I know it's not true). The little break helped ease my heart's sorrow and these violas were balm to my soul.

Heartsease

There is a flower I wish to wear,
But not until first worn by you –
Heartsease – of all earth’s flowers most rare;
Bring it; and bring enough for two.

Walter Savage Landor

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.