Allotment dash

After work this evening at about 5.30 I was pleased it was still light enough to see. The lights are good on my bike anyway, and on my cycle up there, I decided it was time to give my bike a name. After a short think, I've decided to call her Olive. Mainly because she is dark green, but she is also robust and useful and I really like her. My late aunty Olive had some of those positive qualities too, so a fitting name I think. From my point of view Aunty Olive was a sweet lady, who knitted amazing jumpers and cardigans (useful) and travelled from her original home in the UK to New Zealand in the 1960s, and then visited back home many times during her life - so she was well travelled. I suspect my Olive won't be taking me that far - but I can hope! Aunty Olive was a roundish lady. Cuddly probably, rather than robust. When mum and I visited New Zealand together in 1992, she was very welcoming and we stayed in their small home in Auckland, and were then treated to a road trip courtesy of my Uncle Bob and Aunty Olive. Happy Memories, so yes I think Olive is a fitting name for my new bike.

Collected 2 eggs and filled up the rat food - I mean chicken food holder.

Work was $*%@ so not worth a mention. Tomorrow I am going to go in to County Hall like I did last week, for a change of scene and to see people. An early start. I've packed my bag.

TV and nothing much else tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.